Skip to content

Cooking with charcoal

January 10, 2012

Credit: Erin Patrick + Women’s Refugee Commission

This is what we’re up against. 80% of Haiti’s population cooks with charcoal and it is an expensive and dirty daily grind.

I’ve booked my ticket to Port Au Prince for February 1st 2012 and have been devouring documentaries and aid worker blogs and news articles, trying to get a handle on what is going on.

I’ve softened my approach in that I’m trying to remain as flexible as I can, going in with few to no fixed plans and plan to float-like-a-butterfly-sting-like-a-bee by assessing the situation and determining where and how the potential of Solar Fire technologies would be best demonstrated.

I’m taking some Creole lessons @ Haiti Hub so that I’ll be able to communicate once I’ve got boots on the ground… watching documentaries has illustrated that even being fluent in French might not help as much as I had thought…

Got a logo made, revamping the ASTRA website and soon to commence working through my ‘To Contact’ list that I’ve compiled over the past year to see if I can eet up with some solid folks doing good work and get myself oriented.

3 weeks till go time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2012 11:51 am

    for a good early post quake documentary snippet

  2. January 18, 2012 10:56 pm

    Just wanted to thank you for following us. We appreciate interest in the work we are trying to do in Toronto. You are very encouraging, I hope your trip to Haiti goes well!

Leave a Reply

